Baked Taco Bowls

Thinking outside the box of your normal burrito and not wanting to go to a restaurant for a taco salad….I thought I should try making the crunchy taco bowl myself.  I also didn’t want to mess with a fryer.  I was feeling lazy I guess. This is an easy baked version that will still give you that deep filled, stand up crunchy bowl!

The Starting Linep

  • Flour tortillas, burrito size
  • Canola oil or spray
  • Cumin & chili powder (optional)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Place mason jars (EVERYONE has mason jars these days) upside down on a baking sheet. *you can also use an oven proof mug, small bowl or even a large crumpled ball of foil. Next, I like to put my tortillas in a warmer in the microwave for 30-60 seconds to make them more pliable. Lightly coat each side of the tortilla in a bit of canola oil.  If you have the spray, you can do that to each side instead.  Drape the tortillas over your jars. *Here is where I’ll go ahead and sprinkle on some chili powder and cumin to the outside of the tortillas.  It will stick to the oil and give the shell a nice color and flavor! Bake the tortillas for 8-10 minutes in the preheated oven.  Watch closely as not to burn, a few charred edges are good and ‘rustic’ in my eyes ;). You may have to turn the baking sheet for an even color on all of them. Allow to cool for a few minutes and then pull off the jars and fill!!  They hold up great!image *If you have a while till your filling is ready, pop back in your turned OFF oven to keep warm.

Leave a Reply

