Buttermilk Biscuits

I have tried A LOT of biscuit recipes in my life and most turn out just ok.  Well this recipe I stumbled across is 3 for 3.  Like I’m really impressed!  Also, I really like the word ‘buttermilk’ for some reason, so that’s a plus too ;). *I recommend using a food processor if possible.  It helps to prepare this super fast, so your hands don’t get the butter warm, resulting in better fluffier biscuits!

The Starting Lineup

  • 2 cups flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder, aluminum free
  • 1 cup buttermilk 
  • 6 Tbsp unsalted butter, very cold  

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.  This seemed high to me, but it works.  So do it.  Have a nonstick baking sheet ready or a 9×13 lightly sprayed.

Next, in a bowl or your food processer, combine the dry ingredients together (flour, baking soda, salt & baking powder). 

 After you’ve added in your dry ingredients, place in your VERY cold butter.  I like to place a stick in the freezer actually for about 20 minutes before I need it.  Really gets it cold and easier to cut before I toss it in the food processor. 

 Pulse these ingredients together till it resembles a coarse meal. 

 Finally, pour your buttermilk into the dry mix and pulse to just mixed together, about 30-60 seconds.  The dough will be rather sticky and that’s ok. 

 

Lightly flour your counter top, your hands and your biscuit cutter.  I like to just use a juice glass I have.  I flour the rim and it makes the perfect size!  

So now get that sticky dough onto your floured surface and with your FINGERS, gently press out into about a 1″ layer.  Do not use a rolling pin, it will toughen up the dough.  No Bueno. 

 With your biscuit cutter or upside down juice glass, cut out your biscuits and place on your baking sheet.  I prefer mine to touch, softer biscuit.  However, if you like yours with a browner, crustier edge all around, place about 1″ apart. 

 Last step before eating, place these bad boys in the oven for 10-12 minutes.  Be careful not to overtake.  The tops should just be browned.  Remove and lay a tea towel over them to keep warm before grub time! 

 

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Texas Benedict | Railroad Wife

  2. Pingback: Savory Pork & Apple Butter Biscuits | Railroad Wife

Leave a Reply

