Maple Dijon Chicken

This easy, minimal ingredient recipe I cannot take full credit for…though what I can take credit for is how often I make it.  This is always, always, always a hit.  So good that I had to share it with y’all.  

I tweaked it just a hair to suit my family’s taste preferences.  I will tell you too that my boys ate every bit of it up.  So don’t be scared of the word ‘Dijon’ with younger palates…the maple syrup sweetens it up just enough for all taste buds!

The Starting Lineup

  • 1 package chicken breasts 
  • 1 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup (the real stuff, no aunt jemima here)
  • 1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar (plus a dash more if you prefer)
  • Rosemary (fresh best if possible), roughly chopped 
  • Kosher salt & pepper
  • Cornstarch (optional to thicken if desired..)
     

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.  *I also slightly butterflied my two chicken breasts pictured above.  I made two smaller ones off of my two larger ones for my toddlers.  Perfect amount of food for them, while cost effective for me!

In a small bowl, mix together the Dijon mustard (not spicy brown or ballpark yellow..Dijon!), the REAL maple syrup, rice vinegar and a pinch of salt and pepper. 


Place your chicken breasts into a double-foil-lined casserole dish.  I use a smaller dish (8×8 or 9×9, etc for my 4 Breasts)…If your casserole dish is too large, with not enough chicken in it, the sauce will just burn off and basically disappear. 

Pour about 3/4th of your prepared sauce over your chicken.  Reserve the remaining 1/4 for the finished product.  Flip the chicken breasts over to fully coat and then sprinkle a bit more salt & pepper on top of the chicken. 

  

 

Pop this baby into your preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, uncovered.  *mine above took 25 minutes.

Meanwhile, chop up a bit of fresh rosemary for garnish along with the remaining sauce. *here is also where I’m preparing my side dishes.  Time management!!

My 1/4 of ‘reserved’ sauce is actually newly made^^…I didnt make enough in the beginning. Oops!!

Ding!!  Your chicken is now finished and cooked through.  When plated drizzle with a bit more of the sauce and a sprinkle of fresh rosemary on top!  

We serve ours with roasted and ‘smashed’ Rosemary new potatoes and a side of garlic & wine sautéed spinach with mushrooms.

 
  

Leave a Reply

