Easy Escabeche (pickled jalapeños)

We eat A LOT of Mexican food around here and frequent quite a few taqueria’s  (taco, burrito, etc shop for my English only speaking friends) for authentic grub, where we also load up on their escabeche.

Since I do make spicy dinners so very often I thought I’d try my hand at making my own pickled jalapeños.  Dang, it’s so simple!  I also realize I’m not actually “canning” the escabeche here, but these will last a LONG time in your fridge, if you don’t munch them all up first!

The Starting Lineup

  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 6 jalapeños
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 Tbsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp whole black peppercorns
  • 5 cloves garlic, peeled  

First we’ll peel and cut our carrots into thick slices a bit on the diagonal, peel the 5 cloves of garlic, cut the white onion into wedges and thickly slice the jalapeños.  *you’re more than welcome to leave them whole too.  

I like our jalapeño escabeche to be pretty dang spicy, so I do NOT remove the seeds or pith.  However, if you want a more mild version, than do just that!  They’ll still be flavorful, but a tad less burn-your-face-off hot. 😉 *if you have sensitive hands, wear gloves! 

 

In a large pot, combine every single ingredient listed above and bring to a low boil/simmer for about 10 minutes.  The jalapeños will turn from a bright green shade to almost a drab army green.  Remove pot from heat and set aside to cool. 

  

Careful of enhaling the steam off of this…trust me. 😉

  

Once this has cooled a bit, transfer to a clean jar.  Seal tightly and place in the refrigerator for at least 24 hours.  *I took ours out to sample at the exact 24 hour mark and they were perfect! 

  

Leave a Reply

