Spicy Pimiento Cheese Bacon Burgers

So you may think that you don’t care for pimiento cheese…but you haven’t tried mine yet.  I, myself, was a skeptic forever on this southern delight.  I now know it was because I always just bought it from the grocery store in those plastic tubs in the deli section.  I’ve tried the ‘cheap’ store brands to the overpriced ‘gourmet’ varieties.  Yuck everytime (personally).  Now if you don’t live in the south, you may not have those tubs in your deli section available to purchase.  So, again, make mine! 😉  It is also FANTASTIC on crackers, toasted bread rounds, crudités (cut veggies, fancy schmancy word 😉 ) or even a spoon in the middle of a late night!

So why did I wake up one morning craving it on a burger??  Beats me…but I’m sure glad I did!!  This flavorful cheese melts so perfectly over a hot REAL hand-pressed burger…slightly tangy, a bit of heat, smooth and creamy. Plus it pairs so very well with crisp bacon and the crunch and sharpness of the white onion that helps to cut through the indulgence!

The Starting Lineup

  • 2 pounds 80/20 ground chuck
  • Bacon, cooked to preference (I prefer peppered)
  • 1 1/2 cups extra sharp cheddar
  • 1/2 cup mayonaisse 
  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 4 oz chopped pimientos, drained
  • 1 jalapeño, stem off – keep seeds in
  • Dash or two of hot sauce (prefer a Franks style flavor)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • Kosher salt & Fresh ground pepper

Garnish

  • Quality bakery hamburger buns
  • White onions, sliced
  • Mayonaisse  

I like to start this best-burger-ever by preparing the above mentioned pimiento cheese.  Start by grating the extra sharp cheddar cheese and then add it to a food processor.  Next, add in the mayo, cream cheese, pimiento, whole jalapeño (stem removed), garlic powder and a pinch of salt & pepper.  Blend till smooth and creamy!  I then take that cheese filled container and pop it in the refridgerator to chill while I finish the meal. 

     Next, start forming those patties with the ground chuck.  When doing so, do not press and work it too hard or you’ll just toughen up the meat.  Also, make sure that your patties are slightly larger than the diameter of your bun.  The meat WILL shrink up and who likes a hockey puck burger with excess bread??  No one. 

 I add a pinch of salt & pepper to the ground chuck, but I MAINLY season the meat AFTER I form the patties!  Sprinkle a liberal amount of S&P on the OUTSIDE of your patties.  It will make a great ‘crust’ when searing the burgers.  Once formed and seasoned, set aside.

Now in a large skillet, saute pan, griddle (cast iron preferred) etc. add in the bacon and cook till crisp.  Remove the yummy pork to a paper towl lined plate and reserve the bacon grease friends! 

While the grease is heating back up, I like to slice my rolls and spread mayonaisse on each cut side.  Then I either put them in my toaster oven, cut side up, on lowest setting OR I’ll sear the cut side in a pan (do this step at the same time your burger is about ready, so it stays soft and warm.  I like to make them to order if you will. 😉

In that same pan, heat the grease up to medium-high and place your patties down (I can typically cook about 3 at an time).  Please do not flip the patty more than one time (nor press down…you don’t want to squeeze out that flavor do you?), let that patty gain its ‘crust’ (about 4-5 minutes), THEN flip and let cook and crust for another 3 minutes.

Once your meat is cooked to your liking (I sure hope that’s not well-done), you can immediately place the burger on the bottom bun, top with a gooooodd amount of the pimiento cheese (which will start to melt & ooze immediately), a slice of onion and that top bun.  Give a little smash, grab a beer and many napkins and dig in!!  Enjoy! 

 

Leave a Reply

