Brown Sugar Bacon Greens

For whatever reason, greens have been a love of mine since a youngster AND a top pregnancy craving with my first child.  I couldn’t always make this exact recipe in a pinch when my hormones requested, so I’d often buy the most “quality” can, pry open and pour Tabasco sauce straight into it.  All I needed was a fork!  Well..my fingers would have sufficed, but that’s just uncivilized.. 😉

Now THIS recipe is light years better than ANY canned greens.  I know that sounds obvious, but I just can’t believe I force fed myself that stuff now.  I was a junkie!..

My recipe has a subtle sweetness from the brown sugar but a bit of heat with the hot sauce and chili flake…it’s divine!  Can you say “divine” regarding a greens side dish???  It’s true whatever the answer!

*I prefer a thicker Franks style vs a Tabasco style hot sauce in the cooking process.  There is already enough of a vinegar taste with the apple cider vinegar.  However, you can use Tabasco as a garnish if you’d like…just trust me here.

*For even more flavor, you can still add in a Tbsp of chicken bouillon even if you use the broth. 

The Starting Lineup

  • 2 large bunches greens from produce section (I used both collard and turnip)
  • 6 slices bacon
  • 1 sweet or yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp dark brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp (to taste) hot sauce (I used Franks style flavor)
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup chicken broth (or water with 1 Tbsp chicken bouillon)
  • Pinch of red chili flake
  • Kosher salt & freshly ground pepper, to taste  

To start this southern side dish staple, begin by rinsing the greens under water.  Make sure to rub any dirt off the leaves and then remove each side of the leaf from its ‘rib’ and give another rinse in the colander. 

Pat the leaves dry and then roll a bunch together (kind of ‘cigar’ like) and give a rough 1″ section chop to it.  You can also tear the leaves if you’d prefer and set aside.  You can now dice up the onion and mince that garlic!

 Next, dice the bacon into bite size pieces while heating up a large pot (I prefer my enameled cast-iron dutch oven) with a Tbsp of oil.  Add the bacon to the oil and cook until just browned on the edges.  *TIP:  You do not want your bacon crispy in this dish and it will continue to cook later in the recipe. 
 In that same pot with the warm bacon & fat, add in the onions and cook till just translucent on medium heat (about 5 minutes). 

Then add in the garlic, brown sugar, Franks hot sauce, red chili flake, salt & pepper and cook for 1 minute while stirring.  Next, pour in the 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and simmer until reduced by half. 

   Finally add the chicken broth (or water with bouillon) to the mix along with the cut up greens.  Give a good toss in the hot flavorful liquid.  They’ll start wilting quick! 

 Bring the pot to a low simmer, cover this savory side dish with a lid and walk away (stirring occasionally) until supper time!!  Serve with extra vinegar or hot sauce if desired, enjoy! 

 

Leave a Reply

