Southern Comeback Sauce

I’ve had a little break from here as of late and it’s not because I was tiring of it.  It was due to my husband and I purchasing our first home (yay!!) and packing and Christmas and New Years and moving and unpacking and two very young kids and life and….oh man am I beat!!  However, my (much much larger) kitchen is at least unpacked and ready to be lovingly used!  Ecstatic doesn’t even describe it!

So I figured it only fitting that for my food blogging comeback, I make a delicious southern favorite, Comeback Sauce!!  More commonly known on the west coast as the simply put fry sauce.

Now the ingredients can vary a bit in this recipe, but one thing remains true of this Mississippi classic..it must contain chili sauce!  It really does take it up a few notches in flavor as opposed to the west-coast strictly Mayo/ketchup blend.  I promise!

One last great thing about the ever famous Southern Comeback Sauce is that it is darn good on everything.  Like everything.  French fries, onion rings, a burger or BLT spread, veggies, fried chicken strips, shrimp or oysters..I could go on and on, but…I’m hungry!  Enjoy!!

*and hey, if you’re not so inclined on making your own, you can buy bottles of this stuff from many southern retailers online! 😉

The Starting Lineup

  • 1 1/4 cup mayonnaise 
  • 1/4 cup chili sauce (2+ Tbsp more if desired)
  • 2 tbsp ketchup
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1+ tsp Cajun seasoning
  • A couple dashes of Tabasco sauce
  • A pinch of salt and black pepper
  • Small drizzle of olive oil 

This tasty, glorified “fry sauce” could not be easier to prepare!  I absolutely let my little ones in on helping me here since it’s nearly impossible to mess it up.  

In a medium size bowl while using a whisk, simply combine ALL of the above ingredients together.  Make sure to taste and add a bit more Tabasco for heat, maybe more salt or Cajun seasoning or even more mayo if that’s how you like it!  It’s all up to you my friend.

Once just combined, cover with plastic wrap or transfer to a lidded mason jar and refridgerate to allow those flavors to meld.  When ready and if you’re feeling real fun that day…pour into those little paper or plastic fast-food ketchup cups and serve with a big platter of fries, burgers, onion rings, hush puppies…whatever!  It’s good on all!!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

